Push-up Challenge Recap

Last month, I attempted a thirty-day push-up challenge. It started with five push-ups and ended with fifty, following a two day on, one day off schedule. I missed two days, but I was able to catch up by using the off day. Five varieties of push-ups were involved. I was able to complete all of the reps, although I always had to drop down to my knees after two diamond push-ups.

It was a fun challenge and easy to fit into a busy schedule. It only took me 3:11 to complete all fifty push-ups. At the end of the month, I re-tested myself to see how many standard push-ups I could do before failure. I went from being able to do 29 before the challenge to 33 after. I had been hoping for larger gains, but that’s still a 13.8% improvement. I think the biggest thing I took away from the challenge is that it’s not too hard to fit a little extra strength work in and I plan on doing so.

Image

8 thoughts on “Push-up Challenge Recap

  1. I’ve heard that push-ups are a lot about core strength. I beg to differ, considering I can hold plank for forever, yet do a grand total of 6 great, actual, no-cheating, actually-90-degrees push-ups. I admire you so much for taking on the challenge. Strength is a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

