2013 Year In Review

Last year my goals were:

  1. Break 21 in the 5K
  2. Complete a Half Ironman
  3. Start a blog and average a post a week.

I got the 5K result I wanted and also set PRs in the following events. I did not PR in the marathon because I decided to take a break from that distance in 2013.

Distance Old PR New PR
5K 21:25 20:43
5 Mile 36:08 35:03
10K 45:37 44:01
Half Marathon 1:40:03 1:37:24
Sprint Triathlon 1:13:55 1:11:43
Olympic Triathlon 2:44:57 2:36:31

I completed my Half Ironman in 5:49:42, which was under my goal of 6 hours. I think in the future I would be capable of 5:30, if I am better about getting long rides in.

I ended the year with… 51 blog posts. I thought about throwing something together during the waning moments of the year to reach 52, but I had other things going on and also needed some mental downtime. So, the Type-B side of my personality won that battle.

I have received so many positive things from having this blog. Something that I did not foresee was an opportunity to write three articles for the local publication Tailwinds. It was a thrill to see my name in print and be paid for my words. I am pretty small potatoes in the blogosphere view-wise, but I have met some DSC00506great people and received from really nice messages from readers. It’s a wonderful feeling to know that the thoughts that I push out into cyberspace have helped or inspired people in some way. For the record, my most popular post by far was Becoming A Body Pump Instructor. I am glad that Les Mills classes are so popular. 

I also logged all of my workouts last year for the first time ever. I think I owe my PRs to that 25 minutes of yoga 🙂 The bike mileage may look a bit off, but that’s because I log a lot of my cycle time teaching classes indoors.

2013Totals

For this new year, I only have one solid goal so far: to run a marathon in under 3:30 (I am training for 3:25, but I’d be happy with 3:30). A couple months after that is my typical spring A Race, the Tucson 5000, where I’d love to break 20 minutes in the 5K. Based on past marathon recovery experience, however, I won’t stress about it. As for the fall, I am not sure yet. Take another crack at a Half Ironman? Try to break 2:30 in an Olympic triathlon? My 10K PR is also a bit of an outlier, so maybe I will look for a flat destination race.

Here’s to a fit, fast, and healthy 2014!

5 thoughts on “2013 Year In Review

  1. Awesome Year!

    I am so happy that you broke all of your old PR! Whenever I feel like I can’t run/swim/bike/orienteer as fast as I can, that’s a bad moment. Breaking PRs is the greatest indication that we are doing something in life 🙂

    It’s also awesome that you logged in all of your training sessions, it is so motivating, and a great way to measure your goals/performances. I think I’ll have to get a GPS tracker of some sort as soon as possible.

    Looking forward to your next experiences/races, you are an inspiration! Keep it up in 2014!

    • You leave the BEST comments 🙂 I worry about the day when I will be too old to keep improving, but will probably think of some other goals then.

      Get the GPS! You won’t regret it.

      I’m looking forward to hearing about your accomplishments too.

  2. Woww. Your totals are amazing. I never, ever learned to swim despite having both group lessons when little and private lessons as an adult. So . . . that is extremely impressive. Can I ask what you think of yoga and if you enjoy it/want to do it more?

    • I like yoga. There was a time when I did a lot more if it. Mostly DVDs at home. But since I’ve really stepped up the running and triathlon training, there’s only so much time :/

Leave a Reply

